Welcome Message



Dr Leong Che-hung

Welcome to the Homepage of the Standard Working Hours Committee (SWHC).

Acknowledging community concerns over employees’ long working hours in Hong Kong, the Government released the “Report of the Policy Study on Standard Working Hours” (the Report) in November 2012. The Report provides a solid and objective basis for further public discussion on the subject of Standard Working Hours (SWH).

To follow up the study, the Government has set up the SWHC in April 2013. The SWHC is tasked with the important mission of promoting public understanding and in-depth discussion of this complex subject, and advising the Government on the working hours situation in Hong Kong including whether a statutory SWH regime or any other alternatives should be considered. I and twenty-three members drawn from the labour and business sectors, academia, community and the Government have been working together conscientiously to take forward this important and challenging mission.

The SWHC has taken forward its work in four strategic areas, namely, enhancing public understanding; collecting working hours statistics and information relevant to a working hours regime; launching public engagement and building community consensus on different options; and adopting an evidence-based approach for discussion on the basis of a range of factors. The SWHC’s two working groups on “Working Hours Consultation” and “Working Hours Study” completed a wide public consultation exercise and a comprehensive working hours survey in 2014. With reference to the findings of these two exercises, the SWHC is further exploring the directions of a working hours policy applicable to Hong Kong.

The subject of working hours carries widespread and significant implications for the overall labour market, manpower demand, employment relations, work culture, business environment, economic development and business competitiveness. The SWHC will endeavour to foster an informed and in-depth discussion of the community with a view to building consensus and assisting the Government to identify the way forward.

Through this Homepage, you are welcome to browse information about our work and express your views on working hours issues.

Dr Hon Leong Che-hung, GBM, GBS, JP
Chairperson of the Standard Working Hours Committee

歡迎辭


梁智鴻醫生 歡迎瀏覽標準工時委員會(委員會)的網頁。

因應社會對本港僱員工作時間長的關注,政府於2012年11月公布《標準工時政策研究報告》(報告)。報告提供一個堅實及客觀的基礎,讓社會各界就標準工時議題作出進一步討論。

為跟進報告,政府於2013年4月成立標準工時委員會。委員會肩負重要使命,負責促進公眾對這複雜課題的認識和深入討論,以及向政府就處理本港工時情況提供意見,包括應否考慮制定法定標準工時制度或其他方案。我和二十三位來自勞工界、工商界、學術界、社會各界和政府的委員正共同努力,履行這個重要及具挑戰性的任務。

委員會已從四個策略範疇進行相關工作,包括加深社會認識、收集工時統計數據及與工時制度有關的資料、推動公眾參與及促進社會各界就不同方案建立共識,以及根據一系列因素進行以數據為依歸的討論。委員會轄下的「工時諮詢」及「工時研究」兩個工作小組已於2014年完成廣泛的公眾諮詢及深入的工時統計調查。參考這兩方面工作所得的結果,委員會正進一步探討適用於香港的工時政策方向。

工時議題對整體就業市場、人力需求、僱傭關係、工作文化、營商環境、經濟發展和企業競爭力等不同層面會帶來廣泛和深遠影響。委員會會繼續致力推動社會進行知情和深入的討論,務求建立共識,協助政府釐定未來路向。

歡迎你透過本網頁了解我們的工作,並就工時議題發表你的意見。

標準工時委員會主席
梁智鴻醫生,大紫荊勳賢,GBS,JP